Tikvat Israel Congregation

A Friendly, Participatory, Egalitarian Conservative Synagogue in Rockville, MD

Congregants Elect Five to Two-Year Board Terms

Congregational Meeting Dec 20Members of Tikvat Israel elected five members to the synagogue’s board of directors at a congregational meeting Sunday morning, Dec. 20.

Three dozen attendees approved unanimously the slate of candidates put forward by the nominations committee to serve two-year terms beginning in January. Three are incumbents who opted to extend their service to the governing body: Michele Eisenberg, Jay P. Goldman and Kelcey Klass. Joining them now will be newcomers Michael Amster and Rabbi Alana Suskin. Their terms run until December 2017.

Congregants will vote on a new president and other officers in December 2016.

TI members used this congregational meeting to approve the midyear synagogue budget report presented by Treasurer Steve Raucher.

During his report, he said a subcommittee will present the TI board on Dec. 28 recommendations for the next round of facility improvements, using a separate $355,000 capital improvements budget. Already completed are a new shul roof, new heating and air conditioning system in the rabbi’s office and improved LED lighting in the building and the parking lot.

The 55-minute meeting in the social hall also heard reports about the Fund for the Future and a state-of-the-shul briefing from President Melanie Grishman.