Tikvat Israel Congregation Rockville MD

A Friendly, Participatory and Egalitarian Conservative Synagogue in Rockville, Maryland

Five Members Elected to Tikvat Israel’s Governing Body

Five Tikvat Israel members were elected to the synagogue’s board of directors during a congregational meeting on Jan. 12. Each will serve a two-year term once they are officially sworn into office at Shabbat services on Jan. 18.

Congregational Meeting January 12, 2020
(Photo by Felicia R. Black)

Elected were board returnees Kelcey Klass, Judy Stern and Jay P. Goldman and newcomers Roberta Helzner and Beth Smith. Four the five have been members of the synagogue for two decades or longer.

Another incumbent, Sherrie Krauser, has agreed to move into the recording secretary post.

Melanie Grishman chaired the board elections process as immediate past president.

Congregation members will vote on officer positions and several other board berths in December 2020.